Tapestry Design Prize

Weaving brilliance

Now in its fourth iteration and attracting entrants from all over the world, the biennial Australian Tapestry Design Prize for Architects was previously awarded to John Wardle Architects in 2015, Justin Hill in 2016 and Pop Architecture + Hotham Street Ladies in 2018.

Arts & culture
  • Publications

David Walsh’s brief suggests Étienne-Louis Boullée’s Cenotaph for Isaac Newton, a structure impossible to build when conceived, as the hypothetical site for this year’s Tapestry Design Prize for Architects.


Ground Under Repair (Australia) won the Tapestry Design Prize 2021 with ‘Time Shouts’.

Crafted publications…

Envelope‘s considered and succinct publications for the Tapestry Design Prize allows each selection from the spectrum of tapestry works to be seen, heard and understood. How could we help your organisation craft a publication worth reading?

Contact us